An overview of planning spaces and goal drafts
- What are planning spaces?
- Why should you use planning spaces?
- Planning spaces overview
- Creating a planning space
- Sharing the planning space with others in your organization
- Creating goal drafts
- Publishing goal drafts
- Closing a planning space
What are planning spaces?
A planning space is a dedicated area in which you can create goal or OKR drafts together with your team before they are published across your organization.
Why should you use planning spaces?
Planning spaces are a core part of the OKR process and provide the following benefits, among others:
Writing good OKRs
A dedicated area for OKR drafts to be discussed within the team first helps formulate good OKRs before they are published.
Conscious alignment with overall goals
As soon as OKRs from other departments or organizational levels (e.g. leadership OKRs) are published, the draft goals from your planning space can be aligned to them.
Keeping the overview
Finally, a separate area for goal drafts helps you keep track and not mix your drafts with published goals.
Planning spaces overview
First navigate to the 'Goals' module and click on the 'Planning' sub-item. From here you will see a list of all open plannings (to which you have access).
To show all or only closed planning spaces, click on "Open" in the table header (
1) and select the appropriate option.
Creating a planning space
To create a planning space, click on the blue button
1 or on the last row in the table
2. A window will then open where you can assign the planning space to your team (or teams) and to a cycle before creating it. A name for the planning space will be suggested by Mooncamp, but it can be overwritten.
Sharing the planning space with others in your organization
By default, a planning space is shared with the selected team(s) it is associated with. Each team member has full access to the planning space and has the following rights:
- Edit access to the planning space
- Edit the planning space
- Edit name
- Edit cycle
- Edit team
- Create and edit views
- Close and open the planning space
- Create and edit goal drafts
- Publish goal drafts
By default, the rest of the organization does not have access to the planning space. However, the settings can be changed at any time by clicking on "Share"
Creating goal drafts
Every goal that is created within a planning space has the status "Draft" by default.
There are two ways to create goal drafts:
Create drafts yourself
Goal drafts can be created just like other goals using the blue button or the last row in the table.
Import goals as drafts
Often goals change only slightly from cycle to cycle, so it makes sense to import existing goals as duplicates in order to adjust them.
When creating a planning space, you can select whether goals should be imported or not. In addition, goals can be imported at any time by clicking on the ellipsis icon ("...") at the top of the screen and selecting "Import goals"
Publishing goal drafts
After working and finalizing the goal drafts and finalizing the goals, they can be published by clicking on the blue button at the top of the screen
In the window that opens, you can choose whether to publish all the drafts or just a selection of them. With publishing you can also select whether the planning space should be closed afterwards.
Closing a planning space
When a planning space is closed, no more drafts can be created and it disappears from the list of open planning spaces.
A planning space can be closed in the context of publishing goal drafts
1 or via the ellipsis menu item at the top of the screen
A planning space can be reopened at any time by clicking on "Reopen" at the top of the screen.